Home Page Checks Accessibility, HTML, CSS, Links, and Spelling

Total Validator Pro

One licence is required for each person using Total Validator Pro. So if the Pro version is installed on a shared PC, each person using Total Validator on that PC must have their own licence.

If the licence owner is a registered organisation, then the licence may be transferred to another person in the same organisation. But only one transfer may be carried out each year.

When installing, Total Validator is normally self-activating. But if this fails a Unique Code will appear, which must be entered into the Activation form to complete the installation.

If there is a need to reinstall Total Validator Pro for any reason (for example, moving it to a new PC), the old installation should be deactivated first: Go to Help > About, and click the Reset button next to the User ID.

We regularly release new versions to keep up with the rapidly changing W3C standards and the HTML Living Standard. Each licence includes a free subscription which allows the installation of any version we release in the 12 months after the licence is purchased. After that the subscription must be renewed to download further updates.

We do not provide help or downloads for older versions, as these may refer to outdated standards or contain bugs which have been fixed. So users should always ensure they download and install the latest version while they have access to it.

When a subscription expires, it can no longer be used to download any version of Total Validator Pro, including any version that may have been available during the subscription period. So we advise that users keep up to date with new versions during their subscription period, and also keep a backup of their installation, and/or a copy of the download in case it is needed for reinstallation or transfer to a new PC.

Total Validator Basic

Note: Total Validator Pro may be a better purchase if the following appears too restrictive.

One licence allows the installation of one copy of Total Validator Basic on one PC for use by one person using a single login. Licences may not be transferred to other people or to other PCs.

When installing, Total Validator is normally self-activating. But if this fails a Unique Code will appear, which must be entered into the Activation form to complete the installation.

Once a licence has been activated it normally cannot be activated again. This means that it normally cannot be used to reinstall Total Validator Basic on the same or another PC. A new licence will be required instead. So users should ensure they have a backup of their PC to use should their PC need reinstalling.

We regularly release new versions to keep up with the rapidly changing W3C standards and the HTML Living Standard. An installation may be overwritten by any version we release in the 12 months after the installation is activated. After that a new licence will be required for a further 12 months of updates. Note that as Basic licences cost more than renewing a Pro subscription, you may wish to consider buying a Pro licence instead.

We do not provide help or downloads for older versions, as these may refer to outdated standards or contain bugs which have been fixed. So users should always ensure they download and install the latest version while they have access to it.